Tracklisting Analysis: KiD CuDi & Jay-Z

Home » albums, Hip-Hop » Tracklisting Analysis: KiD CuDi & Jay-Z

on Aug 21, 09 • by • with 3 Comments

I could probably wait 2 or 3 weeks to review the actual albums, but I can’t stand to wait much longer. Lets take a look at the tracklistings of 2 of my most anticipated albums of the year.

Jay-Z The Blueprint 3

1. What We Talkin’ About f. Luke Steele (prod. Kanye West & No. I.D.)
2. Thank You (prod. Kanye West & No I.D.)
3. D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune) (prod. No I.D.)
4. Run This Town f. Kanye West & Rihanna (prod. Kanye West & No I.D.)
5. Empire State of Mind f. Alicia Keys (prod. Al Shux)
6. Real as It Gets f. Young Jeezy (prod. The Incredibles)
7. On to the Next One f. Swizz Beatz (prod. Swizz Beatz)
8. Off That f. Drake (prod. Timbaland)
9. A Star is Born f. J. Cole (prod. Kanye West & No I.D.)
10. Venus vs. Mars (prod. Timbaland)
11. Already Home f. KiD CuDi (prod. Kanye West)
12. Hate f. Kanye West (prod. Kanye West)
13. Reminder (prod. Timbaland)
14. So Ambitious f. Pharrell (prod. The Neptunes)
15. Young Forever f. Mr Hudson (prod. Kanye West)

Young Hova‘s last opus, American Gangster, showed Jay-Z’s artistic growth as a concept album and was one of the best albums of the year. The Blueprint 3 gets Mr. Carter back where he’s comfortable (or so it seems). “D.O.A.” and “Run This Town” both started the buzz train, but not as fervent as past albums. However, this is Jay-Z we’re talking about. Not only does he have all A-list production lined up (as promised), the guests are stunning as well. I’m glad to see he said eff you to the purists by enlisting Mr. Hudson, KiD CuDi and Luke Steele of Empire of the Sun (yup, you read that right). Apparently, Luke flipped the chorus on “Standing On the Shore” based on Jay’s hearing it on an “Entourage” episode. I’m probably most excited to see what Jay can do on his own on “Reminder”. When is the last time you heard Shawn Carter go solo on a Timbo track?

KiD CuDi: Man on the Moon: The End of Day

1. In My Dreams (Cudder Anthem)
2. Soundtrack 2 My Life
3. Simple As…
4. Solo Dolo (nightmare)
5. Heart of A Lion (KiD CuDi Theme Music)
6. My World Feat. Billy Craven
7. Day N Nite (nightmare)
8. Sky Might Fall
9. Enter Galactic (Love Connection Part 1)
10. Alive (nightmare) Feat. RATATAT
11. CuDi Zone
12. Make Her Say Feat. Kanye West & Common
13. Pursuit of Happiness (nightmare) Feat. MGMT & RATATAT
14. Hyyerr Feat. Chip Tha Rapper
15. Up Up & Away (The Wake & Bake Song)

If its possible, I’m almost more amped for KiD CuDi‘s official debut to drop (the concert certainly helped). Instead of a tracklisting, CuDi went for a “scene-listing”, in what looks to be an epic concept album. Most of the mixtape tracks were scratched (many were indie/classic tracks CuDi damn near stole anyway), but the indie vibe is still present. It certainly shows with production from Ratatat and MGMT’s slot on the next single.

Images courtesy of Nah Right.

Jay-Z – Jockin Jay-Z (Travis Barker Remix)
Jackie Chain – Rollin’ remix ft KiD CuDi

Pre-order Jay-Z – The Blueprint 3 (drops 9/11)
Pre-order KiD CuDi – Man on the Moon: The End of Day (drops 9/15)

Pin It

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

« »

Scroll to top