Hip-Hop Mixtape

Lupe Fiasco: Enemy of the State Mixtape

I’m not ready to say it tops Lil’ Wayne’s recently released No Ceilings mixtape, but Lupe Fiasco‘s Enemy of the State is pretty good. Its hard to believe its been 2 years since Lupe’s stellar sophomore outing, The Cool, but we really haven’t heard much from him since then (“Everybody N.O.S.E.” remix verse was pretty great).

Enemy of the State doesn’t feature any new production, but Lupe does go in on various beats you’ll recognize from artists like Jay-Z and Radiohead. When I first heard that, I wasn’t too thrilled, but its kind of nice to hear Lupe tear thru beats that you wouldn’t normally hear him on. In particular, “Fireman (Yoga Flame)” he extinguishes Wayne’s work with lines that touch on everything from zshare to Patrick Swayze in “Ghost”. His rapid-fire flow works to near “Go Go Gadget Flow”-perfection. He also blesses Diddy’s Dirty Money single, “Angels” with two verses that could be his best guest appearance to date.

Lasers isn’t slated to drop until early 2010 (whatever that means), but I won’t be disappointed if Lupe releases a few more mixtapes like this. Original production or not.

Lupe Fiasco – Enemy of the State Mixtape (via 2dopeboyz)
01 Intro
02 The National Anthem (Radiohead)
03 Turnt Up (Travis Porter)
04 Fireman (Yoga Flame) (Lil Wayne)
05 L.A.S.E.R.S. Manifesto Interlude
06 Angels (rmx) (Dirty Money)
07 So Ghetto (Jay-Z)
08 Say Something (Timbaland)
09 Thank You (Jay-Z)
10 The One (Slaughterhouse)
11 Popular Demand (Clipse)

**Update – the link is dead. I’m not sure if its Lupe’s camp running around killing links, but use your Google searching skills and you’ll find it somewhere.

By jayelaudio!/jayelaudio