Covers Indie Mixtape

NEW MIXTAPE: JayeL Audio 7-29-11

Boom Box tee designed by Alex Solis available at Threadless

Whoops. Sorry for the music overload, but a lot has happened since those 4th of July mixtapes. M83 decided to drop their glowing first single from Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, Calvin Harris figured he wanted to continue making people groove and Mumford & Sons and Bon Iver opted to take over the cover game with renditions of Bonnie Rait & The National cuts. The pace may be slightly more laid back than Tuesday’s mixtape, but no less stunning. Icelandic gypsy folk collective Of Monsters and Men make harmonious music together, while Toro y Moi and Ralphael Saadiq offer up midtempo jams of their own. My favorite track so far though is Luke Temple’s strumming ode to a lady he just can’t have “Ophelia”. Interesting name and even better song. If someone explains Iron & Wine’s “Monkeys Uptown” though, it may be the frontrunner.

JayeL Audio 7-29-11DOWNLOAD (.rar)
1. Fair Ohs – Baldessari
2. Jack Beauregard – Hollywood
3. Bombay Bicycle Club – Shuffle
4. M83 – Midnight City
5. Of Monsters and Men – From Finner
6. Handsome Furs – Memories of the Future
7. The Tallest Man On Earth – Weather of a Killing Kind
8. Alex Winston – Velvet Elvis
9. Blitzen Trapper – American Goldwing
10. Gardens & Villa – Thorn Castles
11. Calvin Harris – Feel So Close
12. Hoodie Allen – The Chase Is On
13. Iron & Wine – Monkeys Uptown
14. Outasight – Setting Sun
15. Luke Temple – Ophelia
16. St Lucia – All Eyes On You
17. Raphael Saadiq – Just Don’t ft Yukimi Nagano (of Little Dragon)
18. Toro y Moi – Still Sound
19. Mumford & Sons – England (The National cover)
20. Bon Iver – I Can’t Make You Love Me/Nick Of Time (Bonnie Rait Cover)

Get after it in the comments.