JayeL Audio Mixtape

New Mixtape: JayeL Audio 1-27-12

Influence is largely the theme of the majority of mixtape number two for this week. Teen Daze kicks things off with an Earth, Wind & Fire sampling dance party. Speaking of influence, does the piano fueled opening of Miike Snow’s “Devil’s Work” remind anyone else of Van Halen’s “Right Now”? I swear I just flashbacked to middle school. Charming female songstresses Alex Winston and Oh Land cover The Black Keys and The National, respectively. Even Mayer Hawthorne and Electric Guest offer up soul and Motown related gems. Elsewhere, The National demo a new track that sounds, well, like The National. We welcome back The Shins, which sound like the old Shins, but aren’t really the old Shins. Lastly, I have to say, I’m really enjoying the blues rock inspired sound of Cold War Kids new demos. I’m certainly intrigued by the addition of a new lead guitarist in Modest Mouse’s Dann Gallucci.

JayeL Audio 1-27-12: DOWNLOAD (.rar)
1. Teen Gaze – Let’s Groove
2. Electric Guest – This Head I Hold
3. Johnny Headband – Over There
4. The Shins – Simple Song
5. The Concept – Gimme Twice
6. Gospel Music – Apartment
7. Midi Matilda – Day Dreams
8. Ed Vallance – Crystlalline
9. Mayer Hawthorne – Stick Around
10. The National – Rylan (Live on Q)
11. Miike Snow – Devil’s Work
12. Meg Myers – Adelaide
13. The Big Pink – Hit the Ground (Superman)
14. The Oh Hellos – Hello My Old Heart
15. Alex Winston – Everlasting Light (The Black Keys cover)
16. Dana Falconberry – Petoskey Stone
17. Cold War Kids – Minimum Day
18. Kishi Bashi – Bright Whites
19. Diagrams – Tall Buildings
20. Water Town Bucket Boys – Meet Me Where The Crow Don’t Fly
21. Boxer Rebellion – Losing You
22. Oh Land – Bloodbuzz Ohio (The National cover)
Thanks to CoS, All Things Go, Mixtape Maestro, PMA, Largehearted Boy and the interwebs.