Dance Electronic Folk Indie Indie Pop JayeL Audio Mixtape

MIXTAPE: JayeL Audio 6-20-14 ft La Roux, RAC, Mapei, Milky Chance & more

IMG_2443Another supersized mixtape of new releases in dance, indie, folk and rock is here for your listening pleasure. This month was especially plentiful with welcome returns from JayeL Audio favorites. La Roux came back with “Uptight Downtown”, a track so groove-friendly it reminded me of David Bowie’s “Let’s Dance”. Veteran act The Rosebuds surprised with a more well-rounded sound and help from Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon on “In My Teeth” and The New Pornographers have never been more chant-worth on “Brill Bruisers”. It seems like its been forever since a new Haley Bonar record has been released (reality = 2 years), but “Bad Reputation” reaffirmed her rock and self-depreciating narrative skills.

This month featured less dance music than usual (aside from Ducksauce, Royksopp & Robyn and Chris Malinchak), but RAC and Mausi’s contributions seemed so summer-ready, I almost saved them for the coming 4th of July mixes. Newcomers Milky Chance have already hit #1 in multiple countries with “Stolen Dance” and look for them to do the same in the US soon, that is if the power pop anthem “I Wanna Get Better” by Bleachers doesn’t reach it first. Lake Street Dive’s “Bobby Tanqueray” and Mapei’s “Change” have volleyed for my favorite of the month lately, but I’ll give the edge to Mapei’s inspirational pop anthem. Stream below and let me know your favorites in the comments.

JayeL Audio 6-20-14 from jayelaudio on 8tracks Radio.

JayeL Audio 6-20-14 – STREAM (8tracks)

  1. Jack Garratt – Worry
  2. Milky Chance – Stolen Dance
  3. Mapei – Change
  4. Bleachers – I Wanna Get Better
  5. Bad Suns – We Move Like The Ocean
  6. RAC – Cheap Sunglasses ft Matthew Koma
  7. Mausi – My Friend Has A Swimming Pool
  8. My Brightest Diamond – Pressure
  9. Jenny Lewis – Just One Of The Guys
  10. The New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers
  11. Lake Street Dive-Bobby Taquera
  12. Haley Bonar-Bad Reputation
  13. The Felice Brothers – Lion
  14. Little Daylight – Mona Lisa
  15. SPEAK – Gates
  16. Catfish and the Bottlemen -Kathleen
  17. The Rosebuds – In My Teeth
  18. Tennis – Never Work For Free
  19. The Kooks – Hold On
  20. La Roux – Uptight Downtown
  21. Ducksauce – Everyone ft Teddy Toothpick
  22. Chris Malinchak – Strange Love ft Mikky Ekko
  23. Royksopp & Robyn – Do It Again
  24. The Black Keys – Turn Blue
  25. Vindata – All I Really Need
  26. Jessie Ware – Tough Love
  27. JMR-Pioneer Of Your Heart
  28. James Bay – Let It Go
  29. alt-J – Hunger of The Pine
  30. Antlers-Palace

Big thanks to All Things Go, Earmilk, Hype Machine and especially NPR’s All Songs Considered for the plentiful good music.

By jayelaudio!/jayelaudio