Folk Indie

Great Lake Swimmers – Zero In The City

great12 Tony Dekker aka songwriter/frontman for the ever-underrated Great Lake Swimmers took a short break to work on solo material, but GLS fans will no doubt celebrate news of the band’s sixth album. Lead single “Zero In The City” ensures the Toronto-based band had no trouble reconnecting over melodic rhythms that portray Dekker’s intriguing narratives. The well-paced cut combines patient strings, driving guitar and pulsing percussion, while even cleverly referencing math that makes for a sad end to a relationship.

Stream “Zero In The City” below and look for Great Lake Swimmers’ sixth album, A Forest Of Arms, on April 21st via Nettwerk Records.


A Forest of Arms tracklist:
1. Something Like a Storm
2. Zero in the City
3. Shaking All Over
4. Don’t Leave Me Hanging
5. One More Charge at the Red Cape
6. I Was a Wayward Pastel Bay
7. A Bird Flew Inside the House
8. A Jukebox in a Desert of Snow
9. I Must Have Someone Else’s Blues
10. The Great Bear
11. With Every Departure
12. Expecting You

BONUS: Your Rocky Spine

By jayelaudio!/jayelaudio